Planning Commission


The Planning Commission (Commission) was established by City Charter (Section 8.03).  The Commission is a recommending body to the City Council and considers such items as plat and replat submittals, subdivision regulation amendments to the Code of Ordinances, and variance requests.

The Commission makes recommendations to the City Council concerning proposed changes in land use, and reviews developments through the platting process. The work of this Commission is designed to promote the health, safety, and general welfare of the community. The Commission reviews subdivision plats, development proposals, and other development-related requests and makes recommendations to the City Council related to planning and development matters in accord with the provisions of the Texas Local Government Code.


Per City Charter, the city council may appoint a city planning commission consisting of six members who shall be residents of the City of Rosenberg, shall serve without compensation, and shall not hold any other position in the city government.

Meetings are held the third Wednesday of every month at 5:00 pm in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 2110 4th Street, Rosenberg, TX 77471. Planning Commission meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend. Planning Commission meetings are listed on the 2024 Planning Commission Deadlines (PDF)2024 Planning Commission Deadlines - Variances (PDF), and on the main City Calendar.

For more information, please contact the Planning Director at 832-595-3500.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes